Blake Shelton Exhibits Vocals ‘As Solid As a Slab of Concrete’ in New Duet with Shenandoah

Shenandoah teased the release of its album “Every Road” Thursday by dropping its track with Blake Shelton.

And what a collaboration. Marty Raybon, the Shenandoah frontman, offered a fantastic review of Shelton’s rock-solid contribution.

The new song is called “A Girl Walks In.”

Raybon told “People” magazine:

“Blake Shelton is truly a big piece of this new record. His vocals are as solid as a slab of concrete. This would not be a today’s country music duets album without him being a part of it.”

Shelton, the country superstar who is a judge on The Voice, and Shenandoah decided to record a song after meeting at last year’s Country Music Awards.

Blake Shelton Likes Shenandoah Songs on The Voice

Shenandoah drummer Mike McGuire told People the group knew Shelton loved their songs. That’s because he’d pick them for his Voice contestants.

“We knew Blake must be a Shenandoah fan when he picked one of our songs for the past four seasons in a row on The Voice for his artists to sing,” McGuire said. “But we never dreamed we’d have the opportunity to actually do a duet with him personally,” McGuire says. “What a blessing. Garth (Brooks) may have friends in ‘low’ places but we have friends in HIGH places. Thanks, Blake.”

The album will be Shenandoah’s first in the studio since 2016.

Meanwhile, the group already has released other songs on the album. The tracks are with Ashley McBryde, Zac Brown Band and Lady A.

Here’s the tracklist:

  1. “I’d Take Another One of Those” (with Zac Brown Band)
  2. “Make It Til Summertime” (with Luke Bryan)
  3. “If Only” (with Ashley McBryde)
  4. “Every Road” (with Dierks Bentley)
  5. “Then A Girl Walks In” (with Blake Shelton)
  6. “High Class Hillbillies” (with Cody Johnson)
  7. “Every Time I Look At You” (with Lady A)
  8. “Life Would Be Perfect” (with Brad Paisley)
  9. “I’ll Be Your Everything” (with Carly Pearce)